Wednesday, October 13, 2010


The sixth manifestation of Durga is Katyayani. On the sixth day of Navaratri, the mind of the devotee rests in the Ajna Chakra (third eye). Worshiping this form of Divine Mother attains Dharma (right action) and Moksha (liberation). Katyayani blesses devotees with spiritual grace and influence.

There have been various mythological stories of the name of Katyayani. One story tells that there was a rishi named Katya who worshipped intensely to please Durga. He requested from her that she be born to him in the form of his daughter. Durga accepted his request and was born in his family of Rishi Katya and this is why she was named Katyayani.

When earth was very much disturbed by the atrocities of the demon Mahishasur, the three gods of the heavens thought to create the power which could destroy the demon. As a result, Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva contributed a certain part of their influence and grace and created a Devi who killed the demon, Mahishasur. This demon had disturbed the whole earth by his atrocities. This Devi was first worshipped by the Katyayan rishi, and was thereby called Katyayani.

Nine Days of Navaratri:
Divine Mother Aspects and Dress Colors:

  1. Shailaputri, (green)
  2. Brahmacharini, (grey)
  3. Chandraghanta, (pink)
  4. Kushmanda, (white)
  5. Skanda Mata, (red)
  6. Katyayani, (blue)
  7. Kala Ratri (Kaalratri), (yellow)
  8. Maha Gowri (Violet)
  9. Siddhidayini. (Peacock green)

No comments: